Teen overcomes anorexia through yoga

"My biggest advice for others is to seek and pursue what makes you feel most confident in yourself," Degener said. "If you're passionate about the things you do, you will be able to be true to yourself and love yourself for who you are."

When people ask 16-year-old Maris Degener why she was hospitalized for three weeks at the age of 13, she sometimes tells them it was a “heart thing” or because of dehydration. The truth carries a deeper mental and physical pain: It was anorexia.

“I associate it with not knowing who I was or what I wanted to do,” Degener said. “I wasn’t the artsy kid or the sporty kid. I was just there and it spiraled into looking for perfection and control. The irony is that it almost took away my chance to live.”

Excerpt from Ashley Strickland’s article on CNN- Read more

Published by

Joe

I am a retired psychologist now writing freelance . I have published Commonsense Wisdom for Everyday Life, Young Man of the Cloth, The Pastor's Inferno, Navigating Life: Commonsense Reflections for the Voyage, Release Your Stress and Reclaim Your Life, and Make the Best of Your Teen Years. I wrote a newspaper column in Batavia, NY for fourteen years. My articles are now available in my free newsletter, Sliding Otter News. Subscribe free at http://www.eepurl.com/mSt-P.

Leave a Reply

