Life at Diablo Valley College – Taking the Road Less Traveled from Dublin High School

img_9080

As graduation was soon approaching, many of my friends had asked me where I had applied to. Their faces said enough when I nonchalantly said, “DVC.” I felt like in that moment they thought slightly lower of me. They didn’t think I was dumb; they just thought my decision was where the dumb people go. This is a common misconception of many Dublin High School students. Students joke about their bad test scores and say, “Well, I guess I’m going to Las Po!” At a school like Dublin High, the best is what anyone strives for. It’s not outwardly said that every graduate must go to a highly accredited four year, but it is heavily implied within the student body. The student body has this belief that if one does not get into a decent college, their future is completely done with. I’m writing this article to prove, with my case, that it is in fact a misconception.

Excerpt from Alyssia Arriaga’s post in One Dublin.org. Read more

Published by

Joe

I am a retired psychologist now writing freelance . I have published Commonsense Wisdom for Everyday Life, Young Man of the Cloth, The Pastor's Inferno, Navigating Life: Commonsense Reflections for the Voyage, Release Your Stress and Reclaim Your Life, and Make the Best of Your Teen Years. I wrote a newspaper column in Batavia, NY for fourteen years. My articles are now available in my free newsletter, Sliding Otter News. Subscribe free at http://www.eepurl.com/mSt-P.

Leave a Reply

